Planting a Seed

I recently have developed a love for gardening. Now mind you, I’m not really the outdoor, get my hands dirty type of gal. I’m way too much of a germaphobe, however lately I’ve been getting better at managing my OCD for being ‘prestine clean’. That coupled with my hubby having a SUPER green and I mean, BEYOND green thumb, I thought that if he can do it, so can I.

I started small. I purchase some herbs that were already sprouted and decided to transfer them into pots at home and then continue to care for them from that point forward. It worked; kinda. As it turns out, we have a caterpillar in our yard, and needless to say, he’s very hungry…

I was a bit disappointed, then I referred back to the sliver lining theory. And I figured, at least (hopefully) we would get some beautiful butterflies out of the deal.

So I had to start over. Not one of my strong suits. However, I was determined to get this right. I went to the hardware store to purchase some more pots. This time I made sure to pick up the Clay pots, something about plastic is a bit unnerving to me, the plastic just seems so unnatural. I also purchased some seeds.

Lavender. Planted from seeds. Putting my Green Thumb to work!
Lavender. Planted from seeds. Putting my Green Thumb to work!

I chose my favorite herb and color, Lavender. With so many health benefits, I’m astonished that I hadn’t started growing my own lavender sooner.

I was going to start from scratch. No “starter” plants, nothing. Just the soil, seeds, water, sunshine and little ol’ me.

This process reminded me of many times in life when I had to plant a seed for a future harvest. At the time, it seems so ‘unfruitful’, if you will. Almost like a waste of time, even. It can be so difficult to see the end result, especially when it’s something that’s being planted and you don’t really have any power or control over whether or not things will work out, yet you plant the seeds anyway.

Because when you step out on faith. Miracles happen.

Miracles are a retelling in small letters of the very same story which is written across the whole world in letters too large for some of us to see.

As I await for the lavender seeds to continue to bloom and *flourish*. I am reminded of the constant desire for a harvest in our lives, yet without the initial planting of seeds, our work will be in vain.  I am excited to see the next phase and look forward to enjoying the end result of faith and planting a small seed.

 

Leave a Reply

